Collection ID: VAD9217
Printable View Printable View

Collection context


Herford, Julius
Materials include scores, monographs, course materials, and papers from the collection of Julius Herford, a choral conductor, teacher, and member of the faculty at Indiana University active during the mid-20th century.
19 linear feet.
Text materials are largely in English , but also include German , and French .
Preferred citation:

[Item], The Julius Herford Collection, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University, Bloomington.


Biographical / Historical:

Julius Herford was born Julius Goldstein in Anklam, Germany on February 21, 1901. He embarked on his musical education at the Sternsches Konservatorium in Berlin, where he studied piano with James Kwast, and composition with Wilhelm Klatte and Arthur Willner between 1917 and 1923. Although he began his musical career touring Europe as a concert pianist after his professional debut in Berlin in 1923, he eventually pursued an interest in choral conducting and later taught at many notable institutions in the United States. In 1939, he took the name Herford and emigrated to New York to accept a position on the faculty of the Teachers College of Columbia University, where he taught Music and Music Education from 1939 to 1941. He held a number of teaching posts after leaving Columbia, including at the Juilliard School of Music (between 1946 and 1949), Manhattan School of Music (from 1949), and the Union Theological Seminary School of Sacred Music (from 1949), and he served as the Head of the Department of Music History and Literature at Westminster Choir College between 1951 and 1965. In addition to his teaching activities, Herford conducted at many music festivals and workshops, including the Berkshire Music Center, the Alaska Festival of Music, the San Diego Workshop in the Choral Arts, the Choral Arts Institute of the University of Minnesota, and the Choral Institute of the Aspen School of Music. In 1964, Herford accepted a position on the faculty of the Indiana University School of Music, and he was awarded the Doctor of Music Degree from Baldwin-Wallace College in 1965. Indiana University promoted him to the rank of professor in 1965, after which he was responsible for supervising doctoral studies in choral conducting. Herford was appointed as the Director of Graduate Studies for the Choral Conducting Department in 1967, a post he held until his retirment as a professor emeritus in 1980. He received the Herman Frederic Lieber Award for distinguished teaching from Indiana University in 1972, and he lived in Bloomington until passing away on September 17, 1981.

Herford's work as a conductor and teacher earned him a distinguished legacy, and some of his most notable students include Lukas Foss, Jan Harrington, Robert Shaw, Margaret Hillis, Roger Wagner, John Nelson, Elaine Brown, and Harry Elzinga.

Scope and Content:

The Julius Herford Collection consists of approximately 650 folders. The bulk of the collection is comprised of published scores, many of which are miniature scores, but the Herford Collection also includes full scores, organ scores, and published monographs. Nearly all of the scores in the collection include at least some analytical annotations written by Herford and many items contain extensive analysis and other marginalia in his hand. Nearly one quarter of the collection is devoted to the music of J.S. Bach.

Over 100 folders include Herford's personal papers. These materials incorpore handwritten notes, outlines, analyses, and other materials for courses he taught and public lectures given, as well as items related to articles he published in the Bach Quarterly and his correspondence with the journal's editor, Elinore Barber. Of special interest are three papers in which Herford discusses his process of analysis (Lecture from May 8, 1976, Folder #27), an essay on the impact of score study and musicological research on the understanding of performance practice (Folder #68), and notes on analysis ("Analysis of Choral Masterpieces: Notes taken from a course given by Julius Herford (1958)," Folder #87).

Acquisition information:
Julius Herford made arrangements with David Fenske, former Head of the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, for his collection of scores, monographs, course materials, and papers to be given to the Music Library upon his death.
Processing information:

Processed by Cook Music Library staff.

Completed in 2018.


The Julius Herford Collection is organized first by alphabetized composer name at the series level, next by media type (Score or Prose Materials) as the first subseries, and finally piece (sorted by genre in the following order: Sacred Vocal Music [service music, then dramatic, then choruses], Secular Vocal Music, Orchestral Music, Concertos, Chamber Music, and Solo Keyboard Music) at the folder level. For each composer, the Scores subseries occurs first, followed by Prose Materials. Prose Materials include Herford's notes, articles, letters, papers, and monographs, and these items are also sorted by piece (via the same genre-based organization as the Scores). Though there are far more "notes" materials than any of the other types of item in the Prose Materials category, all notes, articles, letters, papers, and monographs are treated equally and organized together. Materials labeled "miscellaneous lecture notes" are placed last in related composers' Prose Materials media type subseries. The final series in the collection is labeled "Various" and includes notes related to lectures on genre paradigms and other general topics that are not related to a specific composer's music.

Indexed Terms

Choral conducting
Herford, Julius



This collection is open for research. Advance notice of your visit is required to ensure that requested materials will be ready for use upon your arrival. Contact the Music Library staff for more details.


All requests for copying and publishing materials must be submitted in writing to the Cook Music Library. Some publication requests may also require the written permission of other copyright holders.

Archival materials are made available under an assertion of fair use (17 U.S.C. 107) for noncommercial educational and research purposes only. Indiana University respects the intellectual property rights of others and does not claim any copyright interest for non-university records. It is the researcher's responsibility to seek permission from the copyright owner and any other rights holders for any reuse of these materials that extends beyond fair use or other statutory exemptions. Furthermore, responsibility for the determination of the copyright status and securing permission rests with those persons wishing to reuse the materials.


[Item], The Julius Herford Collection, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University, Bloomington.

Indiana University Bloomington
William & Gayle Cook Music Library
200 South Jordan Avenue
Bloomington, Indiana 47405, United States
Indiana University Bloomington