Collection ID: LMC 1020
Printable View Printable View

Collection context


The Antioch mss., 1963-1965, consists of poetry and articles for publication in Antioch Review of Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio.
2 Boxes (2 standard)
English .
Preferred citation:

[Item], Antioch mss., Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana.


Biographical / Historical:

The Antioch Review was founded in 1940-1941 by a small group of Antioch College faculty who were seeking to establish an environment where "the voice of liberalism could be heard." In addition to exploring controversial and topical issues, the Review has always sought to provide a forum for new and emerging authors and poets as well as more established members of the literary community. Some notable contributors to the review include Henry Louis Gates Jr., Sylvia Plath, and Robert K. Merton. Robert Fogarty has served as the editor of the journal since 1977 and was awarded the PEN/Nora Magid Award for Magazine Editing in 2003.

Scope and Content:

The Antioch mss., 1963-1965, consists of poetry and articles for publication in the Antioch Review, Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio. Among the contributors are Margaret Hope (Borchardt) Bacon, Willis Barnstone, Jeff Berner, Eleanor Blum, Helmut W. Bonheim, Sandra (Early) Boucher, Samuel McKee Bradley, Eldon Branda, Eugene Hale Chatfield, Victor Contoski, David Cornel De Jong, Martin B. Duberman, Martin S. Dworkin, David Pearson Etter, Norman Friedman, Philip Babcock Gove, Harvey R. Granite, Philip Hammial, Samuel John Hazo, James Hiner, Frances (Minturn) Howard, Helen Sue (Pearson) Isely, Godfrey D.C. John, Joseph Katz, Sydney Kessler, Fred Lape, Konstantinos Lardas, Richmond Alexander Lattimore, Margaret (Masland) Lavin, Paris Leary, Laurence James Lieberman, Oscar Mandel, William Mathes, J. Peter Meinke, John N. Miller, Donald Morison Murray, Paul Baker Newman, Jeannette Nichols, Mary Jane Oliver, Cynthia Ozick, Jean Pedrick, Paul James Petrie, Catherine Roberts, Ralph Robin, Allison Ross, Phillips Berkley Ruopp, Robert E. Sargent, Virginia (Masland) Stetser, Douglas J. Stewart, Carolyn Stoloff, Harry Stone, Mark Strand, Dabney Stuart, Lee Sutton, Robert Sward, Peter Thorpe, Lewis Turco, Jack Lamar Walker, Robert Wallace, Neil Weiss, Miller Williams, Harold Vernon Witt.

Included are also some galleys for 1965.

Acquisition information:
Gift: 1966

This collection is arranged following original order.

Physical location:
Lilly - Stacks



This collection is open for research.

Many collections are housed offsite; retrieval requires advance notice. Please make an appointment a minimum of one week in advance of your visit.


Photography and digitization may be restricted for some collections. Copyright restrictions may apply. Before publishing, researchers are responsible for securing permission from all applicable rights holders, then filling out the Permission to Publish form.


[Item], Antioch mss., Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana.

Indiana University Bloomington
1200 East Seventh Street
Bloomington, Indiana 47405-5500, USA
Indiana University Bloomington
(812) 855-2452